Skip to content

What You Need To Know About the Seven Stages of Grief

What You Need To Know About the Seven Stages of Grief

Everyone reading this has likely felt the depths of grief from various situations. Grief is a natural part of the human experience, yet it can completely uproot and consume our lives. Many of us have researched the stages of grief to find some relief and found the five basic stages. However, grief and pain are a little more complex than that, which is why there are actually seven. Here’s what you need to know about the seven stages of grief.

What Is Grief?

Is it even possible to put grief into words? It seems easier to describe what dark matter is. Grief is incredibly complex and personal to each, and yet, it’s something nearly everyone goes through. In that, grief is a shared experience of the human condition. Many scientists and doctors have dedicated years of research to better understand grief. Dr. Kubler-Ross developed a working model of grief, initially known as the five stages of grief.

More Than Five Stages

One of the most important things you need to know about the five stages of grief is that there are actually seven stages. The five stages came into existence in 1969, but over the years, Dr. Kubler-Ross’ approach evolved to include two additional stages. These seven stages are shock, denial, bargaining, anger, depression and anxiety, upward turn, and reconstruction. You may find yourself somewhere stuck in the first few stages, and it feels like there is no way out. That’s why it’s helpful to have a visual representation of the process and to know peace is on the horizon.

Not a Linear Process

As you seek help dealing with grief, you might try counseling, group therapy, or speaking with friends and family. However, one important thing to keep in mind is that healing is not a linear process. The stages of grief are not set in stone. These stages serve as a working model to help you process your emotions. It’s much more likely that you will cycle through them continuously until you reach that upwards turn and find deeper peace.

Leave a Comment